Telecoms giant O2 today announced that from 15 June, pay monthly and business customers will no longer be charged extra for using their phones in 47 European countries.

Fees will also be waived in some non-EU countries including Iceland, Switzerland and Monaco.

The move coincides with the European Commission policy to abolish EU roaming charges starting from exactly the same date — 15 June.

Kester Mann, a telecoms analyst at CCS Insight said it will be very hard for telecoms companies to reintroduce roaming fees once the UK has formally left the EU in two years.

“I think it [roaming charhes] would go down very, very badly with customers – it would be a very bold and perhaps foolhardy option,” he told the BBC.

“It would be very difficult for them to do that just because the UK is such a competitive market and we’ve moved such a long way from roaming.”

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

Other mobile phone networks have made similar promises. Last week, EE announced new packages which include free roaming in countries such as the USA, Canada, Mexico, Australia and New Zealand.

“Ten years after the European Commission first stepped in to regulate the price of roaming within the EU, consumers will soon see all roaming surcharges disappear when, from 15 June 2017, they will be able to use their phone just like they do at home. As that date draws closer, a number of operators are communicating the good news and sweetening the deal further by extending the number of countries covered,” Matthew Howett, an independent telecoms analyst told Verdict.

However, he agrees that from 2019 onwards, operators will be in a difficult position.

“It will be hard for operators to step back from the pro-consumer stance they have taken,” he added.