3 THINGS THAT WILL CHANGE THE WORLD TODAY

Good morning, here’s your Thursday morning briefing to set you up for the day ahead. Look out for these three things happening around the world today.

Tech giants to disappoint on Q3 earnings

Today is a big day for financial results among technology companies, with three of the biggest tech heavyweights set to report their third quarter results – and analysts are not all that optimistic.

Amazon will report results that are expected to see profit limited by a slowdown in its cloud services business AWS and an increase in the cost of one-day shipping.

Twitter, meanwhile, is expected to report less-than-impressive earnings buoyed by strong top-line growth, with experts warning of massive stock volatility.

However, blue chip technology giant Intel is likely to post the most disappointing results, with expected declines in both earnings and revenues leaving those hoping for a semiconductor turnaround wanting.

Does artificial intelligence need more regulation?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Twitter will lead, with an earnings call at 5am PT (1pm London time), followed by Intel’s earnings call at 2pm PT (10pm London time). Amazon will announce its results via an earnings call at 2:30pm PT (10:30pm PT).

UK claims positive results on cybercrime

Today will see the publication of a report by HM Inspectorate of Constabulary and Fire and Rescue Services looking at how the UK police and National Crime Agency are dealing with cyber-dependent crime.

The report is largely positive about efforts so far, describing responses as “generally good, but inconsistent”.

However, it does raise concerns over a number of challenges facing the UK’s ability to combat cybercrime, particularly the level of sustainable funding for the efforts at all levels.

It also raises concerns about a lack of understanding about demand for cybercrime response at local levels, and the lack of compliance from certain forces with initiatives to coordinate resources.

Pence outlines future of US-China relationship

Vice President of the USA Mike Pence will today outline the US’ view of its future relationship with China in a speech at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars.

It will form the inaugural Frederic V. Malek Public Service Leadership Lecture, which is designed to encourage non-partisan global dialogue.

3 Things That Will Change the World Today

The speech comes as relations between the US and China remain fraught, particularly amid the trade war, which has seen both countries levy tariffs and sanctions against each other, producing profound impacts on international trade.

The speech will be available via livestream from 11am ET (4pm London time).

Wednesday’s Highlights

---

DARPA Launch Challenge: Single mystery team left in space competition

Snapchat results: Despite growing user numbers, Snapchat “faces fierce competition”

The future of autonomous enterprises with Extreme Networks